Everything is backwards-Heidi

Standard

Everything Is backwards-Heidi
“Modern civilization has no understanding of sacred matters. Everything is backwards.”
–Thomas Yellowtail, CROW
Modern civilization says, don’t pray in school; don’t pray at work; only go to church on Sunday. If you don’t believe what I believe, you’ll go to hell. Deviancy is normal. Our role models cheat, drink and run around; these are the people in the news. The news sells bad news; no one wants to hear good news. Kids are killing kids. Victims have little protection. Violence is normal. Leaders cheat and lie. Everything is backwards. We need to pray for spiritual intervention. We need to have guidance from the Creator to help us rebuild our families, our communities and ourselves.
 
 I think it goes further than that. Modern Civilization doesn’t believe in sacred matters. I’m not into praying. I don’t think necessarily we have to pray for guidance from the creator (Whatever Creato you believe in). I do think that we need to get out heads out our asses and pay attention. Everything is backwards. Worse than that many seem okay with that. They have exuses for everything, yet nobody takes responsibility for anything. It’s a blame everyone else society. Unfortunatly some groups get blamed more than others. I didn’t live back in time. So I can’t say it was different then. I do think society is more tolerant of most everything. It’s a shame.
I am and have always been curious about religon. All religons. It always struck me as strange how asking someone about their believes most often ended in their saying I’ll go to hell or some form of that response. They are so close minded. After awhile I noticed a trend. Someone can rattle off what they believe, But it is rare that a person can acutally answer questions about there faith. Most get flustered and resort to name calling and the like. As if asking questions is wrong. I think many people don’t know what they believe they go to the church their family went to week after week without knowing what they believe. Is that faith? (People don’t like to be asked that either).
 I wish I could recall where i read this. It may have been a buddhist book (don’t hold me to that) It said that different people accept religion in different ways. Therefore there are different forms of it. What appeals to one may not appeal to others. The acutal faith was not the issue.
 I won’t lie either. While I am intersted and yes fascinated by learning about religons, I don’t necessarily believe in any of them. The reasons don’t matter.
I don’t know that our role models are cheating, drinking, runing around, or doing any of the other things any more than they ever did. The difference i think is now the media reports it because society it seems craves it. Kids killing kids. I could make that an entire enry here and maybe some day I will, for now I will say that people wonder why that happens and yet they don’t hear the kids, they have kids to fit into societies ideas of normal. Children are bullied, abused, and alls orts of things. that is not an exuse to kill other kids,nothing is. But you have to treat the problem not a symptom of the problem.
Agree with me or not, everyone is entitled to their views. While I am open always to discussions I will never respond to attacks on the subject of religon, whether from others in the group or from within the berriez.
In Peace,
Heidi

Leave a Reply

