Knowing when to stop and let go

Standard

“We observe, consider, work, and wonder, tilling the soil of our lives, planting seeds, and tending them. Sometimes the hard part is knowing when to stop and let go, handing it over to the universe. Usually this happens by way of distraction or disruption, our attention being called away to other more pressing concerns. And it is often at these times, when we are not looking, in the silence of nature’s embrace, that the miracle of change happens.”

I think this really fits well for me, for us. I think the opposite is true as well. Sort of like I was talking about in therapy today. Often with us, something, like me getting sick every January, happens to make me notice. To make me slow down, to check in with myself and rest. To attend to me.

It is very true as well that there is only so much one can do. Maybe that is part of why collages appeal to us so much. It is very much exactly like that. We collage and then let it be. Perhaps it is that letting it be, that allows movement. Allows change.

I often think of things as just stopping when I am not paying attention to them. It really is as though if we aren’t working actively on healing stuff, thinking of it, talking about it, whatever……. then no healing, no work is taking place. What if this is right? What if healing happens even in those quiet moments, those moments when we are doing whatever else? It seems that it is true. What if the most healing, the most profound changes happen in those quiet moments, those moments of distraction.

I like that- the silence of nature’s embrace. I imagine me with wind surrounding me, holding me. I think of rain falling lightly. I think of how nature is calming, centering.

I think especially of how I’d love to someday live in nature.

Raine

Leave a Reply

