VENEGANCE VS JUSTICE

Standard

9:56:10 pm

VENEGANCE VS. JUSTICE. I’M NOT EVEN SURE WHAT THE WORDS MEAN.

VENGEANCE- OXFORD DICTIONARY
punishment inflicted or retribution exacted for an injury or wrong.

PUNISHMENT- OXFORD DICTIONARY
the infliction or imposition of a penalty as retribution for an offense: ()

PENALTY-
a disadvantage or unpleasant experience suffered as the result of an action or circumstance:
(http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_us1276620#m_en_us1276620)

RETRIBUTION-
punishment that is considered to be morally right and fully deserved:
(http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_us1284685#m_en_us1284685)

JUSTICE-
just behavior or treatment:
the quality of being fair and reasonable: ()
(http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_us1260353?rskey=toXQSg&result=1#m_en_us1260353)

SO HOW DOES THAT HELP??? MIMI SAYS VENEGEANCE IS WANTING SOMEONE TO PAY FOR WHAT THEY DID TO YOU EVEN WHEN YOU KNOW THAT IT IS MORALLY WRONG TO DO SO.

I DO WANT THE ABUSERS TO SUFFER PUNISHMENT. I WANT THEM TO PAY FOR IT. WHAT I ASK IS MORALLY RIGHT? WHAT IS THE PROPER PUNISHMENT FOR TORTURING A CHILD? ?

BUT THEN I’M NOT SURE I WANT WHAT IS MORALLY RIGHT. WHAT I REALLY WANT IS TO DO WHAT WAS DONE TO ME. AND YET— IF IT CAME TO THAT COULD I DO THAT? COULD I DO THAT KNOWING IT WOULD MAKE ME LIKE THEM? SO THEN MAYBE THAT ISN’T WHAT I WANT.

THEN I TRY TO THINK ABOUT IT IN TERMS OF RELIGON. SUCH A HUGE CAN OF WORMS FOR US. YET I’M CURIOUS. IN THAT FRAME OF THINKING I CAN’T ANSWER. I SIMPLY DON’T KNOW. I’M GUESSING IT WOULD BE A LET GOD TYPE THING. BUT WHAT DOES THAT MEAN EXACTLY? WHERE IS MY PROOF THAT HE PAID FOR IT?

EVEN IF I BELIEVE IN HELL- BELIEVE THAT HE WENT THERE- AND IS SUFFERING.. THAT IS HELPFUL BUT TO A POINT. I THINK ABOUT EVERYDAY LIFE- HOW WE HAVE WORKED SO DAMN HARD, SUFFERED SO MUCH TO GET WHERE WE ARE AND I’M REALLY ANGRY THAT THE ABUSERS DIDN’T HAVE ANY OF THAT. WHEN THEY WERE IN LIFE ON THIS PLANE THEY DIDN’T HAVE THAT SUFFERING WE HAD/HAVE. AND THAT I GUESS IS MY ISSUE. YET THERE IS NO WAY TO CHANGE THAT.

SHARYN

(http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_us1281852#m_en_us1281852)
(http://oxforddictionaries.com/view/entry/m_en_us1281852#m_en_us1281852)

One response »

  1. Sharyn, I don't know if you want a response or a suggestion. It's blog posts like these that make me tread lightly and with reason. I have thoughts but sometimes the only response a reader needs is to know the words have been read and understood (if not empathetically then at least sympathetically). So I am here. I am "listening."

Leave a Reply

