October Memoir challenge- post 3

Standard

I’m participating in a blog challenge this month. I am doing it in art journal style. Each week there is a different theme.I’ve decided that 2 is a good number to go for. I am going to try to get 2 posts up a week for the October Memoir blog challenge.  If you are interested in learning more about this challenge- hop on over here.

This week’s theme is relationships. After some thought I decided to start with the most important relationship anyone has. Their relationship with themselves.  How often do we overlook this relationship? How many of us don’t have good self talk? How many put themselves down or berate themselves?

My relationship with myself was terrible for a very long time. I talked to myself in ways I wouldn’t talk to any other person.  You can read old entries here for more about why. As an abuse survivor, I think it is common. For a very long time I thought it was my fault what happened. That is why I hated myself.

I’ve done a lot of work to get here and it sure hasn’t been easy.

Angie

ImageImage

10 responses »

  1. This is beautiful. It says to me: here is a creative, artistic, smart, brave person, trying to be the best she can be. I think that amounts to someone I could love and admire, someone anybody would love and admire.

  2. This page feels so hopeful. The character on the page is moving beyond barriers, juggling love, going to great heights. Everything about it says, I’m lovable! I can look at this page and believe you are!

  3. Oh Angie. This is so powerful. There are things I am not able to share on my blog because they are not my stories but I hear how some people talk to themselves and my heart aches for them. I LOVE this page. I can’t say it enough. There is so much here to ponder and explore. It’s like a gift you created for others. So wonderful.

    One day, I was talking with a coworker and I said, “You know, I really like my children.” He was baffled. “Of course you do. You’re their mother.” “No,” I explained, “as I mother I’m supposed to love them but I never have to like them. But I honestly love my children and, on top of that, I like them.” He didn’t have children so he might not have been able to understand but I think he might have children someday and maybe then he’ll begin to understand.

  4. Thank you for the honesty of your post. Your emotional courage is inspiring. I’m sorry you went through a period of not liking yourself. I hope this post can be a comfort for other people who are rebuilding their sense of self.

  5. What you say here is so true and important—we need to have an understanding relationship of/with ourselves before we can help/understand others.

Leave a Reply

