October Blog Memoir Challenge- Roots and Wings-Post 6

Standard

I’m participating in a blog challenge this month. I am doing it in art journal style. Each week there is a different theme.I’ve decided that 2 is a good number to go for. I am going to try to get 2 posts up a week for the October Memoir blog challenge.  If you are interested in learning more about this challenge- hop on over here.

This past week’s theme was Roots and Wings. I appologize for my late posts. I was sick. After I was well enough to be creative, I realized that my 2 pieces for this week really need to be viewed together. I held onto the first until the second was finished.

Roots art journal  roots close up art journal

I do want to say that this is just what came out when I did the first piece.. I do realize that abuse is not solely where I came from. Really it was just an experience of my youth. I did not come from abuse at all.

Wings art journal  wings art journal close up

This second piece is wings.  The wings I have recently grown. The wings I use to fly free from my past. I think the key in this piece for me is “the courage to live” because when you have abuse in your past, living is more scary then being where you are in your journey. Living is full of unknowns, living is terrifying.

This week is the last week of the challenge.  The theme is Gratitude and Regrets. I am working on my first piece, with no idea yet what to do for my 2nd piece.

8 responses »

  1. What strength to be able to say that abuse is not entirely where you came from, but just one experience. It shows that you have won, not the abuse. I understand how scary life can be. I experienced PTSD following a car accident many years ago, and I know what it’s like to be afraid all the time. Good for you for overcoming it and unferling your wings! What an amazing person you are.

  2. Thank you for sharing this post. I am impressed by your emotional courage and honesty. You write that you’re afraid, but your actions say that you’re walking a brave path — by speaking out, by healing, by not letting your past hold you back. I’m honored that you’d share so much with us, your readers.

Leave a Reply

