A foot story finished- NaBloPoMo day 6

Standard

That entire week was difficult. How could I go back to the pain after a taste of life with no pain. It seemed cruel. I was better off never having gone to the doctor I thought. At least then I wasn’t aware how bad the pain was.

I went to the doctor with dread that morning. “Your insurance will cover them, let’s get you fitted.” I was shocked and happy.  It was a quick process. The nurse brought in this little cardboard box with squishy foam in it. “Take of your sock, and let me do all the pushing, you just stand up.” The entire thing took maybe 5 minutes.  “come back in a week”.

I checked my insurance records, the inserts cost 325$ a foot. Ridiculous isn’t it? They are foam with leather on top. Custom to my feet. I move them from shoe to shoe, depending if I am wearing work shoes or my sneakers. They have changed my life. I still have pain after a very long day at work, but now the pain goes away.

I found a place that has slippers with arch supports in them. I wear only Brooke’s shoes. They truly are better than anything else I have worn but they are expensive. Over 100$ a pair.  I found a pair of shoes with nice supports to wear to work as well. They thankfully were not as expensive. I have exercises I do 3 times a day. I also take motrin to help the inflammation continue to decrease.

I am proactive regarding my feet, and that is a huge positive for me. What pain I have now, I know how to deal with. I know it will go away.  I still haven’t gone back to the gym. When I try to, that combined with my job on my feet is simply too much. But I am hopeful one day to get back.

The moral of the story is this- don’t live with pain, you don’t deserve it. Find a doctor, find a way. Explore your options.

Angie

2 responses »

  1. This brought tears to my eyes, I’m so happy that you have found some relief. Thanks for the reminder that no one deserves to live in pain, & to keep trying. I forget that sometimes.

    • I think it is an easy thing to forget. For me the longer the pain went on, the more convinced I was that I somehow deserved it. I didn’t and neither do you.

Leave a Reply

