Art Journal In progress-NaBloPoMo 18

Standard

How would you like  to see my process for art journal pages? If you promise to understand the mess of my desk, I will be glad to let you watch.

First thing I do is look through my magazine box. I just browse through until I find a few images that call to me. If I have a theme in mind, this process takes longer. Sometimes I will use a photo or group of photos I print or have printed somewhere. I use Photosheet to print 4 2×2 photos on a sheet.

DSCN2492

After I have a few pictures ready I pick a background. Now many people make their own backgrounds. I wish I had time to do this, but with a husband, a 3 year old, and a job I simply don’t.

DSCN2493

After I have the paper I start to pick some embellishments.  I simply browse through and pull out anything that seems to fit. I may or may not use it.

DSCN2502 DSCN2501

Stamps!

DSCN2500

Here is my pile of embellishments I may use.

DSCN2496

Now I should add I do all this without really thinking. I simply go with my gut, with what feels right. It isn’t a cognitive process for me.

I used a stamp on a tag to make this. I didn’t like the first color, so I stamped over it with a different color. It doesn’t have to be perfect. Let go of perfection and what should be and just create.

DSCN2498

Now it is time to find a layout. Find a way to combine all this. I think this feels right.

DSCN2506

As I go I may or may not change things. I do this as I glue. I use a glue stick. I also use Aileens tacky glue for anything that needs something more than a glue stick, or a glue gun.

Stickers!

DSCN2503 DSCN2504

Finally I always add a space to journal. Sometimes I use a cutout that I journal on, sometimes I use my journal page stamp. I do the page adding the blank journal space. Then I add the journaling. Sometimes I immediately know what to write, other times I have to think about it for a day or so.

DSCN2530

Pens, markers, colored pencils galore.

DSCN2499

Here is my final page.

DSCN2527 DSCN2528 DSCN2529

 

Hope you enjoyed.  Now go out there and create.

4 responses »

  1. I remember how much an issue space was in the past when I lived in an apartment and how it hindered creativity. Doing digital art is a great way around that.

  2. First off, I’m jealous of your stamping and embellishment supplies. The black and white dress stickers shown, those are awesome. I love looking at people’s art supplies.
    I like the idea of the small notepaper, too. I’ve seen it at Dollar Tree but I had no idea what to do with it. I like how you’ve used it. I snag ink pads from Hobby Lobby and Michael’s Arts and Crafts. Sometimes I can get them for as low as a dollar. I love all this stuff. It excites me! And it does make me want to go create. I’m forever stealing a page from a magazine because I like a word or some picture in it. I’ll pick up vintage books, especially vintage music sheets as backgrounds for paintings and such.
    I’ve been working on a small collage greeting card, my first. I sometimes break away from my normal way of painting and doing things and jump into something I’m not totally familiar with such as collaging. That would be so cool to collage with you one day. You could show me the ropes of using those dang on stencils. You’ve got alphabet stencils, as do I, but mine come out looking a total mess so I just leave them alone and print everything or try to use my tiny little Dollar Store alphabet set which I see you also have. 🙂
    Okay, I’m done writing a blog entry in your comment section. If you intended to bring to life the artist in viewers then I say….a job well done.
    Faith

    • I love Hobby Lobby clearance aisle! It’s always the first place I go. I don’t use my stencils much either, for the same reason you stated. When I do, I tend to trace and then color in with markers or colored pencils.

      Glad I inspired you.

Leave a Reply

