Books: A love affair-NaBloPoMo 20

Standard

Ever since I learned to read, I have loved books. I still remember how proud I was being able to read Dick and Jane to my mom.

What’s not to love? Being transported to a different place, to a different world, where you can be and do just about anything?

When I was in 5th and 6th grades I used to take a book to school and read under my desk. Now I wouldn’t recommend that, but I just couldn’t get enough. Books were 2.50 a piece. I couldn’t wait to get my monthly 5$ allowance so I could go to walden books in the mall.

I’ll never forget my first trip to a used book store. I was in heaven. I came out with a huge stack of books.

The library was always a safe place for me. I would spend hours there. Reading, browsing. Just being safe.

I still read a fair amount. Not as much as I did before I had Troy but still a lot.

I love Goodreads. I love keeping a list of what I read. I love reviewing books.

I have a nook as well as 3 book cases stuffed full of books. I love being able to take 20 books whereever I go. I love not having to choose what to buy carefully as I have to find a spot to keep said book. My nook frees me up to buy more books. Read more books. I also love that ebooks are often cheaper.  I will however always buy some authors. I will always have paper books. My nook doesn’t replace books.

I also always read more than one book at a time. I don’t know why. I always have.

Currently I am reading-

Winter Garden- Kristin Hannah

The Lightening Thief-Rick Riordan

Taming the Tiger- Thich Nhat Hanh

Romanov’s: the final chapter-Robert Massie

 

It’s a nice mix of books I think. My only rule is that I give a book 75 pages to capture my interest. If it fails to do so, i stop reading it. I don’t force myself to finish a book. There are too many books out there waiting to force myself to read something I am not enjoying.

What are you reading? Do you force yourself to finish books?

Leave a Reply

