2014 challenges?

Standard

Every year I pick a few challenges to participate in the following year.  Usually a few reading challenges, Ebook challenge, and new author challenge, in 2013. As well as a few cross stitch challenges.   Then I spend the rest of the year alternating between praising myself and berating myself depending on how I am doing in said challenges.

I am just not sure I want to in 2014. It isn’t that I don’t want to commit or try to do new things, after all I am doing 37 thing list. It’s just that……… I don’t want to over commit myself. I don’t want to end up not wanting to read because I feel I have to read certain things.

On the other hand, what if I don’t commit to anything then I end up doing nothing? That I suppose is my fear. Is it possible even that I wouldn’t read one thing? No that isn’t realistic at all. Barring a miracle, 2013 is shaping up to be the lowest books read year since I’ve been keeping track (2005 or thereabouts). Still nothing drastic happened and I’m honestly okay with not only how much I read but what I read.  Isn’t that enough? The fact that I am reading? That i’m enjoying it?

Cross stitch wise I have sort of plans, the idea of what i’d like to accomplish. I don’t want to set myself up for failure. Although I did complete 7 of the 17 I wanted to complete in 2013, I didn’t even hit the half way mark. Rather than see my success, All I can see is my failure.

It seems I’ve already made a decision doesn’t it? I’ll be doing no year long challenges this year.  I’ll focus instead on listening to myselves. On listening to what my body, mind, and spirit are telling me. I’ll focus on my 37 things list.

Stay tuned for a 2013 wrap up.

Leave a Reply

