Art journal photos

Standard

Although it has been awhile since I shared any art journal photos, I have been fitting in as much time as I can to do more.  It seems that the more I do, the more creative I feel. I like the feeling.  I’ve realized that it is okay to go in bits and pieces. It’s okay to do a bit here and a bit there.  I’ve done 4 of these pages in July. I’m on a roll.

 

This one has a background of torn tissue paper, that I covered with a layer of acrylic over tape that I pulled off.

Live It up

 

In this one I challenged myself to do a layout without using any glued images at all. I’m proud of this, as it is outside my comfort level.

Born to stand out

 

This one came together quickly. The background is oil pastel, which I discovered is hard to write over top of.

Live with Intention

 

I did this one on a day where I was feeling down and less than.

The quote is “All we can do is be authentically ourselves.”

I am Worthy

 

This is the quick page I did for mother’s day.

Mother's day '14

 

I did this one spur of the moment when I just had a few minutes.  I like how I explored a bit with lettering.

Hide in Plain Sight

 

Those above were all done in my small art journal. This last page I did on my big 12×12 scrapbook paper. I like sometimes to find art to go with the background. In this one I added journaling directly to the page, which I like. I will be trying that again.

Next Chapter

4 responses »

  1. I really like the one you did without glued images. I also like playing with lettering where some letters are cut outs and others are handwritten or whatever.
    What I like about your pages is that they express a moment, sometimes simple, sometimes complex. When the feeling hits you to do it you do. That is not me at all. Perhaps I could take a lesson in doing a quick page of the moment, of a thought, affirmation or something like that. I like what you’ve done here.
    Faith

    • The page I did without any glued images was for sure the page that I spent the most time over. Of course as I do that more, I assume it will get easier.

      That is very true of art and me. Which strange to say is very different from my life in general. In life I am very plan things out, and organized. But art is very spur of the moment. When I try to plan art, I get frozen in fear.

      Thanks for the compliment.

      • When I try to plan art I don’t do it well. I struggle with it, get angry then stop. I can’t plan it. I have to let it happen which is why I don’t do commissions. I can’t paint what others see nor can I plan out how to express on canvas what others feel. Heck, I can’t even duplicate my own work because I paint with emotion. If that painting is done then the emotion has been expressed. I can’t fake it and produce the same painting.
        Now, I set aside time for art but I don’t plan anything. Once I walk into my studio to paint I go by what I feel and that is never the same day by day.

Leave a Reply

