Passion- a journal entry

Standard

“My mission in life is not merely to survive, but to thrive; and to do so with some PASSION, some compassion, some humor & some style” -Maya Angelou

This really speaks to me. Passion I think is what I’m missing. Somehow, for some reason I’ve stopped doing the things I’m passionate about. Stopped making them part of my life.

I set them aside for the ‘necessary’ in life. Money & day to day things. Yet is that truly a reason? No, I think it’s an excuse. It’s easier to work & then spend free time on Facebook or watching tv. It’s mindless those activities. Oh there is a place for quieting the brain for sure, in meditation.

It ire doesn’t help that my job is mindless. It requires moving fast, yes, but working the deli is mindless work. Doesn’t require much thought at all. I’ve gotten lazy. Decided unconsciously that I don’t want to think even when I’m not working.

I read in O magazine that passion isn’t always life changing. That it doesn’t have to be profound. It only has to mean something to the individual.

Passion is about those things that touch our soul, light our spirit afire. Things we want to share with those around us. Things we could talk about to anyone.

It can be intimidating to find those things that ignite passion. In the end I think we each have to quiet our minds & pay attention. What we are passionate about touches us & lights something in us. It is, I think, something that both ignites the spirit yet calms the soul.

What then am I passionate about?

Saving sharks, cross-stitch, children of divorce, child abuse prevention, the potential of using art journaling to heal from abuse, that pit bulls aren’t always dangerous animals.

Those are all things that light my spirit & soul. Things I want to share with others.

So then my problem isn’t finding my passions, but fitting them into my life. Making them an integral, everyday part of my life. I truly believe that doing so will make the rest of life, the mundane and necessary, easier, more worth it.

What are you passionate about? Are your passions part of your life, or like me have you cast them aside for easier things?

Angie

2 responses »

  1. I like your post. I set passion aside for a career. I have forgotten what brings me joy. It has been bad for my mental health, but I’m working on figuring it out.

    I love sharks too…and I’m giving art journaling a try šŸ™‚

    • I think that is an easy thing to do. Set passion aside for a career. Yet there can be both. Hope you find a passion soon.

      Good luck with art journaling. It’s so fun. Just don’t get caught up in trying to be like others art journals. Do your own.

Leave a Reply

