Word of year- journal 52

Standard

Effy Wild ended up taking over Journal 52. I'm so happy about that. Of course I am continuing with this. This year each week there are two prompts. One from Effy and an alternate one from her admin Sarah.

I'm doing things a bit different this year. I decided to work in a pre made book. I'm using a strathmore visual journal with 90 lb paper.

Week 1 prompt was word of the year. I started the page with a few words in mind, deciding to choose later in the week.

 

Knowing my word would be a word to invoke calm, I chose shades of blue for the background. After laying down a variety of blue alcohol sprays, I decided to go over that with blue gelatos which I smeared around with a wet fingertip.

 

Seeing as I got stencils for Christmas, choosing which ones to use was the most difficult part of this page. After picking diamonds, I used that with a makeup sponge and a blue acrylic paint. It didn't look right to me, so I added a few sprays of some alcohol inks, a blue and a green.

 

I woke up one morning midweek, knowing my word was going to be breathe. T

I used my letter stamps and black archival ink to stamp the word then cut it out.

 

I usually just gaze around at all my supplies until inspiration hits. That is exactly how I decided to use a new stamp for behind my word. After stamping her in black archival ink, I used my Neocolor ii to color her in. Happy with her placement on the page I glued her and the word down.

 

Disliking the big blank spaces, I added a tree stencil and a bird cage to symbolize the feeling of being in a cage that often accompanies the anxiety I struggle with. Panic attacks feel like I am stuck in a cage and can't escape. I used black for the tree but blue for the bird. I wanted the cage to be in a peaceful color. I also wanted the cage to stand out as separate from the tree.

I decided as a final touch to add some butterflies to the page. For me they symbolize freedom. This is the freedom that Breathing gives me.

I decided I needed some texture. I used my dick blick modeling paste for this with a music stencil. Not being able to wait any longer, I used my new silks acrylic glazes in silver on top of the music notes.

 

The next day, I decided I needed some texture. I used my dick blick modeling paste for this with a music stencil. Not being able to wait any longer, I used my new silks acrylic glazes in silver on top of the music notes.


I decided the white of the word stood out too much. I decided to use some green sparkle paint on it. Only the sparkle is just in one line. But I left it anyways. I went around the word with some gray neocolor ii to make it blend in more.

As a final touch I decided to spatter some white paint on the page.

 

 

3 responses »

  1. Artistic gem, well thought out assignment, good book for your pages.
    I have to remind myself to breathe,to control my breathing when panicked. Agreed, I like the word. It’s a simple instinct that gets complicated when anxious.
    Faith

Leave a Reply

