Jam- favorite drink

Standard

The Jam prompt for the week was Favorite drink. The challenge was to use bubble wrap.

 

I wasn’t sure where to start with this prompt. I’m not confident in my drawing ability so I had to come up with another idea. Like usual, I simply started to add layers, and go from there.  I started with my newest stencil. It’s a large Dylusions brick wall stencil. Can I say I love this stencil?  I went with a blue alcohol spray. I really love how the brick looks under all subsequent layers.   After gazing at my supplies for awhile, I decided to go with a brown for the following layer. I used a Tim Holtz brown distress paint but I didn’t like how that looked so I smeared it around with a baby wipe.  Then I added a bit of a brown alcohol spray.  Satisfied with that, I used a sand colored acrylic paint with some bubble wrap. I ended up stamping it all over the page, as I liked how it looked.

While I waited for inspiration I colored in some mushrooms that I stamped in archival ink onto paper. I colored them with my Silks acrylic glazes. I love those.  I cut them out and decided to glue them to the page.

I then turned my attention to the prompt. I knew I wanted to do tea. I thought about taking a photo of a tea kettle I have, but I didn’t like how it looked. It wasn’t right for the page.  I ended up finding an image online that I printed and cut out.  After I glued it to the page, I used some neocolor ii to help the cup blend into the background.  I am working this year to incorporate my love of written journaling into my art journal pages. This has been much more difficult than I thought it would be.  I decided to add some simple words about early tea memories I have. About why it is a calming drink for me.  Then liking how that looked I added the word Teavana to the top of the cup as it is my favorite place to get loose leaf tea.  Then as a final touch I added some of my favorite flavors of various teas around the cup.

IMG_1334

I thought about removing the mushrooms but decided against it. I’m not sure why. I guess I like them where they are. Mushrooms have nothing to do with my favorite drink.

 

 

2 responses »

  1. I like the mushrooms on there. It adds a bit of whimsy to it.
    tea for life, I’m so there with you. Have you ever tried milk oolong? Wonderful stuff.

    I just purchased some Kenyan tea, a different kind than before. NASTY. I mean just flat out NASTY!
    I feel like that country failed immeasurably with that tea blend. After the first few sips I began thinking, okay, who can I victimize with this horribleness? Yes, your name came up with a few other people. I’m going to tell you straight out though, this one was so bad that I didn’t even finish the cup. As a matter of fact I went back to the bag to look at the ingredients because it seemed as if they added cheap coffee to the tea. I think if they’re going to put some burdock root in something they should tell somebody!!! Wrong. That’s why it tasted like they mixed coffee with tea because they had burdock root in there. Messing with people’s my tea like that.
    I’m just going on and on about this stuff. Like your cute mushrooms, I’m going to leave it. 🙂
    Faith

    • I actually have a strong dislike of milk, so I have not tried milk oolong. Oolong is one of my top flavones of tea. I happened upon a sale of 2 ounces of teavana oolong for 2.50$ I bought an entire pound. I get 2 good cups before I have to change the leaves.

      The way you described that tea, how gross. Although I do love and miss coffee I wouldn’t want it mixed with tea.

Leave a Reply

